The wings arrive!

Notice the nice new background photo!  The wing kit arrived!

 

I finally got the elevators closed up and (nearly) finished.  I managed to get the dimples into the inspection plate.  I put a screw in the nut plate and slowly tightened it.  It created a sufficient dimple for the trim motor plate.  I had some problems with the trim tab electrical harness.  I didn’t have the right crimper for the Molex connectors, so I’m skipping until I do (and until I can replace the pin I mangled!).

2014-11-15 13.59.56

Bending the leading edges went really well this time.  I used some lengths of PVC pipe and Gorilla tape.  I got a good bend and it clecoed pretty easily.

2014-11-15 14.00.06

 

I pulled the pop rivets in no time!

2014-11-15 15.26.10 2014-11-15 15.26.27

If you look carefully, the instructions tell you (in bold print) that

“The two holes are closer to the top edge of the E-614 Counterweight.”

I did not look carefully.  I ordered some new counterweights and Molex pins to replace!

 

2014-11-15 15.39.51

 

I’m going to re-rivet the trailing edge for the right elevator.  The heads are sitting too proud and I don’t think they will hold as well as they need to.  I had to order some replacement 3-4 rivets as I only have about 20 left.  Meanwhile, I’m declaring the elevators done for now (just in time for the wing kit to arrive on Monday!)  I cut some brackets that I screwed into the wall.  Added enough space for a carpet liner.  They hold the elevators nicely in place.

2014-11-15 16.15.15 2014-11-15 16.51.28

 

The wing kit came early on Monday the week before Thanksgiving.  I have some Piper Arrow lessons set up for this weekend and then we’re traveling to visit my in-laws for Thanksgiving.  It will be a couple weeks before I can even do inventory!  Sigh!

Meanwhile, I still have to construct the rear fuselage.

At least I know what I’m getting for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

