Short ribs

I was going to go flying today (retractable training and some IFR refresher work), but last night’s storm left 6 inches of slushy snow on the plane.  The ramp was a mess (didn’t want to get slush into the retractable gear where it can freeze and prevent deployment).  It was also still misting freezing drizzle.  So I brushed snow off the planes and went to the shop.

2015-03-21 08.59.54

All I did was work on ribs…. ribs, ribs, ribs

I finished deburring each rib with a file, sandpaper, and a Scotch-brite wheel.  I drilled the two holes for snap bushings on a drill press.  I dimpled the top of the non-wing walk ribs.   I scuffed and primed the rib.  I marked them with their location from the spar and hung them up.

Rinse-lather-repeat.

I hung a box up as a mini-paint booth for the priming step.

2015-03-21 11.50.15

Despite a break for lunch and ice skating lessons, I got 10 ribs done.  18 to go.

2015-03-21 17.45.45

2015-03-21 13.28.42

Leave a Reply

